• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Fingerpress Ltd.

LeslieB

Geek Unique
Registered
Reaction score
I'll let more experienced heads comb through their site, but I was encouraged that, except for a link to their submission guideline page, their site focused on their books and current authors. Their "Who We Are" statement also talked about what they are publishing, rather than the usual 'giving new writers a chance' pap that so many small publishers have.

LaylahHunter

Posting on AW instead of writing
Registered
Reaction score
The "Our Team" heading on the "About Us" page gives four names with no bios, and none of them have a title that suggests editing is among their duties; I'd like to know who does the editing and what their qualifications are. (Also I note they plug their separate editing services on the About Us page, telling us the editors know what makes a book publishable and marketable but still not mentioning names or credentials.)

As an author I'd also be curious about all of the standard "what's in it for me?" information: what kind of payment they offer, how often, what marketing they do, what distribution they have or are planning on....

Basically there's nothing that seems like an obvious red flag to me, but a lot of questions I would ask them if I were thinking of submitting there.

nkkingston

Bemused Girl
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.solelyfictional.org
Ugh, I hate the work computer. IE keeps crashing on me. I'm copying this from wordpad, so apologises for any formatting nonsense.

Okay, so I think this site is the template for theirs, which would be absolutely fine if it wasn't for the fact their About Us shows they've got exactly the same team! Either it's the same people, or they've forgotten to remove that bit (which means we have next to no info about the team).