PDA

View Full Version : Could you interpret this for me?

3Dynamic
11-06-2012, 12:36 PM
Hello all,

About a six weeks ago I posted, asking if an agent ever accepted a half done work. Despite the advice I received, I decided to query an agent anyway. This one was from a place called Writer's House. (I will protect anonymity and not say the name). Anyway, he declined with the email below.

I am now trying to decide what to do next. When I posted last time, some people thought I was desperate for an advance. I am not. I am about to start a major engineering project while here on sabbatical in Norway. What I must decide now is now to focus the little time I have in the day. On the one hand, I could query other agents. Or I could self publish. But what I will not do is change the weaved voice in the story.

I am not a writer. I am a professor of mechanical engineering. I have only seen one query letter - my own (maybe I should have looked at others). And now I know only one rejection, my own. I just do not know how to interpret this rejection. Is he being kind and does he really think "Dude, this is junk, get back to work" Or do agents write stuff like this. Why would he say nice things if he declines? Was he just trying to get out of it nicely? Do they do that?

Could I ask what you would do? I am so sorry for the long post. I am 55 years old and have never written fiction before and I do not know your culture.

-----------------------------------------

Thanks so much for sending your novel along last month. Wherever you are, I hope that Sandy spared you and yours, and that you’re safe and sound…