Smart Phone Memory

raelwv

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jdbyrne.net
I am a cell phone Luddite - I keep a flip phone in the car for emergencies only (much to my fiance's consternation), so I have no personal experience with iPhones, smart phones, etc. For phones that take pictures and/or record video, what kind of memory do they use? Is it something removable like an SD card, or internal only? It may make a difference in my upcoming NaNo project when the MC has to ditch some data.

Thanks!

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
99.999% of cell phones nowadays have cameras, and they all take pictures and videos.

A majority of smart phones do not have expandable memory, so you can't insert or take out a memory card.
These just use internal flash memory.

Let's say, the person does have a smart phone (you can research "smart phones with expandable memory" to get a model, or just skip it, say cell phone), and it has a expansion slot for insert/eject memory, the card would be a microSD card. (I'd just have them take the card out, on account that some phones you need to take off the battery cover to get the card out, some phones have a external spot).

I'm not entirely sure about this, but I think flash memory (in phones and about everything else) doesn't entirely delete the file because there is a electronic imprint left on the memory. Please, correct me if I'm wrong.

Orianna2000

Freelance Writer
Registered
Reaction score
When I want to get pictures off my iPhone, I have to plug it into the computer with an ISB cable. I can copy the pictures/video over, or I can move them, which deletes them off the phone. It's not like a digital camera, where there's a removable memory card that plugs into the computer for file transfer.