Christian Speakers? Teachers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ldumont999

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.louisedumont.com
I was wondering how many on this list suplement their writing with speaking and/or teaching?

I speak regularly on topics releated to chocolate and coffee (subjects of my two books). They are a natural spring board for ladies retreats, Christmas banquets, and a ton of other events. With Valentine's Day coming up again, I regret to say I haven't promoted myself as I should have.

What sort of things do you all write that lend themselves to speaking?

Inspired

Registered
Reaction score
I haven't done enough writing yet, but I'm sure that in the future I'll be able to chime in.

I'm a full-time teacher right now.

NancyMehl

She Who Resonates...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.nancymehlbooks.com
I am doing quite a bit of speaking. I have three requests from writing groups in the next couple of months. I've already done several of these - but some of them pertained to my newspaper column. The new one are all centered around my books.

Nancy

ldumont999

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.louisedumont.com
CLASS

If anyone wants to increase their speaking skills you might consider CLASS Services. http://classservices.com/ They are a great organization and they are the speaking arm of the Glorieta Christian Writers Conference that Gravity mentioned. Even if you don't have a lot of writing published, you can begin speaking on topics that will support your writing down the road. A great plus for a publisher is knowing that an author can promote their books through an already established speaking platform.

Robin Bayne

~writes for Him~
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.robinbayne.com
I speak when asked--but it's not my fave thing to do. I give workshops in person and online on topics such as Small-press/epublishing and How to Earn Money Between Books.