Questions to ask an agent during critique session

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bukarella

Registered
Reaction score
Next week I'm sitting down with three different agents at a conference for a 10-minute-10-page critique session. Following advice on Ms. Shark's blog, I would like to bring a page with questions.

I just don't know what to ask. This is my first time. I'm so freaking nervous!

Here is what I have already:

-Does the voice come across well in the first ten pages?
-Do you feel like you are connecting with the main character on the first page?
-After finishing the first ten pages, do you feel like reading page #11?
-Does the premise strike you as fresh or overdone?
-What would be your #1 reason to reject or accept further request for this project?
-Do the first ten pages come across as polished?

any other ideas?

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score
I would not ask the agents any of the questions you possed. Why?

Most of the questions you pose show insecurity and the agents want to have confidence that you know what you are doing. Let them tell you what worked for them and what did not, and then go from there...

But that is just my take. Good luck...

dangerousbill

Retired Illuminatus
Registered
Reaction score
Next week I'm sitting down with three different agents at a conference for a 10-minute-10-page critique session. Following advice on Ms. Shark's blog, I would like to bring a page with questions.

You might want to have some questions ready, but in my experience, expect the agents to take the initiative. If they've already read your stuff, they'll have notes and advice, and just ten minutes to get it across. Don't be surprised if some of their advice may conflict, one with the other. Be ready to take notes.

BethS

Registered
Reaction score

I just don't know what to ask. This is my first time. I'm so freaking nervous!

Here is what I have already: