Not open for further replies.

Gale Haut

waxing digital artistic
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.galehaut.com
*Cringe.* Here we go. :partyguy:

Since this hasn't been brought up in its own thread, I'd like to discuss pricing and ethics. How we price our work affects our entire community, and will inevitably have repercussions that will affect you (good/bad) in the long run.

Alessandra posted an excellent suggested guideline in our talent-for-hire thread. It seems to have been largely ignored, and the quality of our portfolios don't appear to correspond to it.

For reference:

If you haven't a sense of price range, may I suggest the following categories:

Bargain-basement ($50 - $200)
Low ($200-$500)
Medium-Low ($500-$750)
Professional ($750 - $2000+)

I don't really know where to begin, because it's a sensitive subject for most people and I'm not an experty businessy type. I'm going to drop some links to resources and readings:

The Dark Art of Pricing
The Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
I generally assume that people charge what they can get away with. That depends not only on talent, but business skill, areas of expertise, and whether they depend on their art for a living.

Gale Haut

waxing digital artistic
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.galehaut.com
I generally assume that people charge what they can get away with. That depends not only on talent, but business skill, areas of expertise, and whether they depend on their art for a living.

It's precisely because designers and artists have an inconsistent perception of their own value and skill level that we should encourage each other to stay educated on current pricing guidelines. Every time something is given away for free or given at a ridiculous bargain price, it will undercut the market and spread the idea that art should be recreational and cheap.