My publisher's e-book security seems quite inadequate -- advice?

Yorke

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm a first time author. I signed a contract with my publisher a while back and submitted the manuscript last month. Publication is set for early next year. It is an academic texbook involving Excel.

It was agreed -- sadly, only verbally -- that the format would consist of a physical book, with example files on a CD. I wrote in such a way as to make understanding the Excel files depend on having the book, and vice-versa, to make it harder for freeloaders to benefit.

This week the publisher said they want to distribute this in e-format as well, and that one single password would allow anyone to download both the text and the Excel files. To be clear -- this is not one password per user; rather, it is one password usable by anyone who has it. Nothing else (e.g proof of purchase etc) is required.

The publisher explains that it is "not set up" to issue one password per customer, and that doing so would be too much administrative hassle.

Perhaps as a novice I'm naive, but to me this sounds like suicide.

One student, for example, could buy the book, obtain the password, and share it -- and then everyone else gets everything for free. The publisher claims it can find out if the password is posted online, but

a) what if the password is shared by word of mouth or email, which can't be monitored?

b) what if it is posted in a way, to evade automated detection, but nontheless makes it clear what it is? (For example, if the password is 01562948HwI, one could post the following online: "Stick the following three bits together: the middle bit is 6294; precede this with 015; and follow it with 8HwI".