What do you want to know before submitting to a fledgling market?

W.L. Marks

Registered
Reaction score
So, I'm planning to ask the editor of a fledgling paying market a few questions before I submit, so that I can get a better handle on what he's looking for and on his plans for the future of his publication. I figure this would actually be a great opportunity to offer him an interview on my blog (my blog is fairly new and the opposite of a big deal, but since there's not much out there about this market...) so that other writers wouldn't be left wondering as well.

With that in mind...

What do you really want to know before submitting to a brand new market? What questions do you wish the editor's site would address?

Datepalm

Registered
Reaction score
Thinking about it a bit, I guess I want contradictory things as a reader and as a writer - as a reader, i'd like to know what makes this mag stand out from a hundred other genre mags, but as a writer, i'm just glad I have another market to get rejected from :p

V1c

Hmmmmm
Registered
Reaction score
I want to know there is a business plan in place already, and that it is ready to handle the current marketplace. The fuzzy 'why are you starting a magazine' is great as a reader, as a writer I want stability, plans for growth, contingency plans, what qualifications the people running the magazine have, etc. I want to know my stories are in good hands and if rejected - I'm rejected by quality, darnnit.

W.L. Marks

Registered
Reaction score
Ah...V1c, you read my mind!

That's the kind of thing I always want to know as well. I'm working on these questions right now, trying to phrase them so that I'll get the answers I want without sounding terribly nosy or rude.

I plan to use these questions for multiple markets, because I'd love to make this a regular feature on my blog, helping fledgling markets get the word out and helping writers to determine whether they're the kind of places they want to submit or not.