Requested Bio?

RLTDavis

Who moved my cheese?
Registered
Reaction score
I've read several times that mentioning bio material in your query that isn't directly related to writing (publishing experience or expertise in the field you are writing in) comes across as unprofessional. However, some of the agencies I am looking into specifically ask for a "short bio" along with the query. I have no previous publishing experience, nor anything that would make me an expertise in my genre (fantasy), so what should I do? It seems that it would be even more unprofessional to ignore their request for a bio.

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
You dash off something that has the same tone as the book you're hoping to sell.

RLTDavis is the last stay-home mom in America who does not serve her kids an all-organic diet and arrange playdates and French lessons to fill their days. She and her husband live in the Great Lakes region and enjoy riding Harleys way too fast, stopping to eat fried food and check in with the sitter.

RLTDavis finds horror prompts in the newspaper on a regular basis. She has spun them into tales which she then weaves into novels since her teens. TITLE is her first novel. She lives with her husband, children, and dogs in the desert southwest, where hiding a body isn't difficult.

Like that. It's not terribly difficult, since you already know how to write in the same tone as your novel.

Choose carefully what you will reveal of yourself and your family. Remember, some fans are crazy and you may want to ensure they cannot find you.

Maryn, who's shared her little horror story enough (it wasn't a fan, but still...)

RLTDavis

Who moved my cheese?
Registered
Reaction score
Choose carefully what you will reveal of yourself and your family. Remember, some fans are crazy and you may want to ensure they cannot find you.

Maryn, who's shared her little horror story enough (it wasn't a fan, but still...)