Injected Meningitis

GeorgeK

ever seeking
Registered
Reaction score
I looked but did not see a thread on this
http://www.foxnews.com/health/2012/...ath-toll-rises-to-12-with-121-cases-reported/

http://www.cnn.com/2012/10/09/health/meningitis-exposure/index.html
Tainted vials of epidural steroids resulting in fungal meningitis. There are many other articles out there about it, but I was wondering if anyone has been able to find out

1. where the drugs were made and packaged? The distributor is in Massachutes, but now days there are parts of things from all over and then finally assembled in one place, and

2. specifically what species of fungus is it?

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
I'm in Massachusetts, and I also work in healthcare. So I have been watching this story in shock and awe for several days now.

The company is called NECC, New England Compounding Center. They assemble complex medical preparations (such as injectables) from pre-manufactured bulk drug packages. Yesterday, in the face of this terrible situation, they voluntarilly surrrendered their license to operate and essentially shut themselves down. Lawsuits to follow I am sure.

I do not have the details of whether the fungus originated in their pharmacy, or if they got a bad batch of something or other which caused this to happen. (Coulda gotten a bad batch of drugs, or coulda gotten a contaminated shipment of needles -- ANYTHING in the chain could have caused this. Or maybe they had one really stupid messed up day of bad infection control procedures there in the lab, so the fault could lie 100% with them.)

But no matter what happened, this is quite the horror story all around.

Last edited:

GeorgeK

ever seeking
Registered
Reaction score