PDA

View Full Version : Free Kindle self-published books

elindsen
10-06-2012, 01:52 AM
Hey guys!

I'm new to self-publishing. I was with a publisher but sales were...severely disappointing so I struck out on my own. I have a few shorts up on Amazon, but for $0.99. I want them to be free, but I can only figure out how to do the whole *free for 5 days* shindig. How do you make a book free forever?

If it helps, they are listed on Smashwords for free.

Thanks guys!

Kriven
10-06-2012, 03:24 AM
Let Amazon know that a competing retailer (Smashwords) is offering the titles for free. They'll lower the price to match.

But it's technically breaking the ToS you signed to publish on the Kindle platform.

elindsen
10-06-2012, 03:27 AM
Thanks, Kriven. I didn't sign up for KDP Select program, yet. Guess I won't :)

J. Tanner
10-06-2012, 03:29 AM
One minor point on what Kriven said (which is otherwise correct, and the method writers generally use):

Amazon may price match. Sometimes the do so reletively quickly, sometimes they do so months later, and sometimes they never price match. It's entirely their discretion, and, as noted, you're technically breaking the rules and they could just unpublish your book instead (though this tends to be a very rare occurance.)

elindsen
10-06-2012, 04:05 AM
Thanks so much J. I'll see how far I can get

Rubay H.
10-06-2012, 04:53 AM
Amazon seems to price match more quickly with Kobo, iTunes and Barnes & Noble than with Smashwords. In my limited experience, anyway. :)

elindsen
10-06-2012, 05:29 AM
Thanks Rubay. I'll keep that in mind.

merrihiatt
10-06-2012, 09:33 AM
Thanks so much J. I'll see how far I can get

Why would you risk getting your book pulled from Amazon KDP and possibly getting your account taken away completely? The instances of this happening are rare, but it does happen.

I'm not understanding why you would deliberately break the Terms of Service you agreed to when signing up with Amazon KDP.