Any writers out there play the drums?

Day O'

Registered
Reaction score
Hello:)

The story is a YA romance, but I'm just looking for help with the drumming parts.

I need a few scenes checked out. Just trying to make sure the lingo and references to playing are correct.

Please PM me if you can help.

Thanks!

Blinkk

Searching for dragons
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a guitarist for a living. I'm in plenty of professional bands and I work with drummers all the time, so I know the lingo, how to set up a kit, and even the dull stuff like how to tune a snare head or where to place a microphone for best recording quality. Perhaps I can help out?

onesecondglance

pretending to be awake
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
soundcloud.com
I'm a guitarist for a living. I'm in plenty of professional bands and I work with drummers all the time, so I know the lingo, how to set up a kit, and even the dull stuff like how to tune a snare head or where to place a microphone for best recording quality. Perhaps I can help out?

Same here, just without the bit about getting paid to do it :D

GeekTells

Tick tock...
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.geektells.com
I'll toss my hat into the ring. Like the guys above, I'm a guitarist these days, but I started musical life out as a drummer and still play.

Day O'

Registered
Reaction score
GeekTells, onesecondglance, and Blinkk I'd love for all of you to take a look!

If you PM me your email--some of you look new so if you click on my name you can send a private message--I can send the two scenes, about 1500k. One scene is about trying out the other is a practice session. All the drumming 'stuff' is bolded, but I'm open to suggestions about how tryouts and practice would run.

Thanks so much!

Jones()

Registered
Reaction score
Website
irememberdayton.blogspot.com
If you're dealing with drummers, I first would like to recommend this book:

Checker and the Derailleurs, Lionel Shriver