PDA

View Full Version : Formal Education Level

frankiebrown
09-22-2012, 07:42 AM
I am a college student, currently studying exercise science. My curriculum in exercise science hasn't done doodly-squat for my writing, but I was a journalism major once upon a time, and I know that helped to expand my "writer's consciousness" simply by forcing me to write about things that would have otherwise bored me to tears.

Just a matter of curiosity - what's the highest level of formal education you've endured, and has it helped to develop your writing?

quicklime
09-22-2012, 07:54 AM
PhD in bio, and yes, it helped, but not because it reinforced "good" writing habits.....it taught me something close to a parallel language, and being aware of that instead of changing everything completely was what helped.

Beachgirl
09-22-2012, 07:59 AM
Bachelor in Environmental Science. I think my experiences since then have helped my creativity more than the actual education. For instance, my current series takes place in and around the Everglades. I would never have even thought about using it as a location without having spent time working there.

CrastersBabies
09-22-2012, 08:00 AM
M.F.A. (fiction) and M.Ed. (Adult Ed / focus on narrative theory and transformational learning).

The M.F.A. helped, sure. The M.Ed. Naw. Mostly just project planning, curriculum creation, educational theory, etc. If anything, the M.Ed. has helped my writing by forcing me to write something truly dry and ultra-academic. It makes me crave creativity so that by the time I got home from class, I had to crank out some words for myself.

frankiebrown
09-22-2012, 08:20 AM
Awesome, thanks for the input y'all.
I guess if I'm honest with myself, my education in exercise science has done a lot to teach me about kinesiology and the mechanics of the body. It comes in handy during action scenes where the push and pull of muscle takes center stage.

Beachgirl
09-22-2012, 08:26 AM
Awesome, thanks for the input y'all.