As an agent - when do you decide to reject or sign based on a full?

GuruLord

Cake or Death?
Registered
Reaction score
Website
copernicusnerdicus.blogspot.com
Another one of my dumb questions because I tend to think too much in the mornings. Blame my commute.

Requesting a full manuscript, I'm assuming, is a big deal. As an agent you're dedicating a lot of time to reading a manuscript that either has potential or you're hoping has the potential to be a sale for you. Now I know a lot of questions run through your mind when reading a full, such as do I love the voice? Do I love the plot? Can i sell this? Will people read it? Etc (i'm speaking as if I'm an agent, but I'm probably clueless ha).

Anyway, I'm just wondering, when does that feeling hit you that a) you want to sign the author b) that you want to reject.

Do you sometimes know you're going to reject or sign halfway through the full? I wouldn't be surprised that as an agent a decision is made just not to finish a full if you are not feeling a book or characters voice enough.

Just a curiosity question again :) I love hearing the responses from agents.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an agent, and it may be a while before one sees this thread.

A request for a full doesn't mean a full MS will be read. Some agents start with requests for fulls, rather than going for a partial first, and even those who request a full after a partial may only read two pages past the partial mark if that's where they lose interest or the plot falls apart.

Corinne Duyvis

My New Cat Is Too Big for Shoulders
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.corinneduyvis.com
I've seen several agents use this as a shortcut: When reading the MS, do they already start thinking of editors to send it to who they're convinced would love that book?

Also, if they have to put the MS down for some reason, are they compelled to pick it up again later? Does the book stay with them when they're forced to take a break?