Has this ever happened?

3Dynamic

Registered
Reaction score
Good Morning,

Please allow me to ask this in strict sincerity, despite the laughter that may ensue.

Suppose I have the first 50,000 words of a novel completed. The idea has never been done before. And suppose the idea screams of financial success (yes, we all say that, and, yes, I may be delusional, I accept that, but please bear with me and stop laughing).

Has anyone ever successfully approached an agent with a 50% completed draft and gone on to secure an advance?

Note one fact: while I have never been published as a fiction writer I have had great success in my engineering writing. I am now under contract for a textbook. I complete what I say. Yes, this bears no testimony to my ability to write, but it shows dedication.

Now... one more thing... I did submit a novel for consideration to agents last year. And it was read by many. They all said the same thing: great style, excellent writing, but no plot. Now I have a plot. I am thinking of approaching the same ones. (There is a personal reason I need to do this in advance. It has to do with funding.)

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
Has anyone ever successfully approached an agent with a 50% completed draft and gone on to secure an advance?

There are probably exceptions, as there are to every rule, but basically: No. A novel has to be completed before an agent can submit it. Unless you're Stephen King or George R.R. Martin or Norah Roberts or some such. Debut novelists? No.

Now... one more thing... I did submit a novel for consideration to agents last year. And it was read by many. They all said the same thing: great style, excellent writing, but no plot. Now I have a plot. I am thinking of approaching the same ones. (There is a personal reason I need to do this in advance. It has to do with funding.)