Is Being a Debut Author or Having Pub Cred More Important?

Stiger05

Registered
Reaction score
I'm an unagented writer and I recently received an offer that I'm struggling with. A small, local publisher has propositioned me to write a short mystery novel for an e-book series they're putting out in the coming months. This is a reputable publisher, they run the critique group I'm part of, so I'm not concerned about legitimacy. They really like my writing and thought it would be a good fit for what they're doing.

Here are my concerns though:

1. I am concerned about the short amount of time I have to write and revise. They want it to come out in November. Other than my writing, they asked me because they know I write fast and thought I would be able to work within the time constraint.

2. I'm worried how it will look to agents. I've read so much on this forum about how important it is to be a debut author for marketing purposes. The length is really more novella, 35-40k is what they requested. Would that still enable me to be marketed as a "debut novelist" (if that glorious day ever comes that is)?

I've shied away from going the small publisher route, mostly because of a friend who pubbed with one and then had trouble getting agent interest in subsequent work because they weren't debut and didn't have great book sales (since the publisher is so small and the book is only for sale on Amazon). I'm not anticipating large sales since this will be mostly local and only in e-book format. Will that hurt me? When I think of my long term career, my goals--like every other writer I suppose--are to get an agent and pub with a larger house, because I do want this for a career. Going the small pub, e-book route seems more like writing as a hobby, but maybe that's just me.