How long would it take to heal from this?

StarryEyes

Registered
Reaction score
In the story I am currently writing, one of my characters gets wounded in the abdomen by a red-hot sword. The blade penetrates her about 10 centimeters (or 4 inches) and she receives almost immediate treatment in a hospital. The heat of the sword causes the wound to cauterize, but obviously the character still needs time to heal. She is an 18-year-old female.

How long would it take for her to be able to walk again, and when should she be completely healed?

Bufty

Where have the last ten years gone?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
You said 'penetrates'.

I'm no doctor but ....a 'sword'?...and 'cauterise'? I would be surprised if four inches of red hot sword into the abdomen did anything other than create first degree burns and kill her to boot.

I'm curious to see responses from those who may know.

shaldna

The cake is a lie. But still cake.
Registered
Reaction score
It depends as well where the wound is - abdomen wounds are very dangerous because there are so many major organs relatively close to the surface.

In addition, if the stomach is perforated, you have between 15 and 30 minutes to fix it.

Cauterising an internal wound can actually cause problems when it comes to piecing things back together - cauterisation essentially seals the tissue - if it's burned then you'll have to cut away the burned portions before you put it back together again as that tissue is dead now.

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
Personally I'm wondering about the wielder of the sword. If it's red hot, you're talking temperatures in excess of 700 degrees F. Swords are metal, and that metal extends into the handle. Even if the handle has some insulation surrounding the metal tang, it's still going to be hot. Very, very hot. Probably hot enough to burn the wielder's hand.

Best of luck,

Jim Clark-Dawe

StarryEyes

Registered
Reaction score
Thank you for your replies!