Adoption fiction help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I've been seeing a lot of books and movies coming out involving adoption in some way. October Baby is probably a cult favorite in the Christian community by now, Juno was a smash, and a new Superman film is due next year. My concern, however, is that they may not be doing it justice by portraying it in a glamorized and sentimental light. Very rarely do you get an "adoption gone bad" story; that would be bad for public relations, right?

When it comes down to it, adoption isn't really a societal good anymore; it's a business. And every business needs a good rep to make it big. To get a good rep, you need to tug at the heartstrings of the reader/audience. However, as a writer, I feel that adoption doesn't really provide much in the way of conflict or resonance, and they all pretty much tell the same story. This is especially true in the case of stories that focus on the adoptee, which follow a basic formula:

Adoptee doesn't like aparents.
Adoptee meets birth parents, the polar opposite of the aparents.
Adoptee is torn between the two sides.
Adoptee reconciles with both sets of parents, but hugs the aparents anyway. Music swells, and credits roll to Simple Minds "Don't You Forget About Me".

Call me a cynic if you want, but unfortunately, this stuffs sells for all the wrong reasons. It's glurge, pretty much. How could it be made into a good story?

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
This is better suited in the story experts and interview section.

It's not exactly a straight forward adoption senario but check out The Face on the Milk Carton. It's about a girl who's kidnapped at 3. The kidnapper takes her home to her parents, claims she's had a baby and dumps her on them. They "adopt" her and raise her as their own daughter, but don't tell her she's adopted at all. She finds out by finding her face on the milk carton.