THIS is True Love.

aruna

On a wing and a prayer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.sharonmaas.co.uk
I work in a hospital. Yesterday I had a patient/client who was a woman of 90 who, apart from her physical problems, has light dementia. We're trying to figure out her post-hopsital care.

She spoke of her husband, who looks after her. "He's probably also pretty old," I said.
"Oh no, we're not old at all!"
"You're 90!"
Oh, no, I'm not that old."
Anyway, she went on to speak of her husband. She kept on repeating what a good man he is. What a good man. "He carries me in his hands!" Which is a common German expression meaning, he does everything for me. She kept on repeating that and had tears in her eyes. She blessed me as I left.

Later on, I spoke to the social worker who keeps an eye on them. I mentioned what a sweet old woman she was. Yes, he said, Mr X is 91 and looks after his wife alone. He has done so since -- always. He refuses all help. He has about 3 hours help a month. They are both perfectly lovely people.

I was in the process of organising a care home for her, as Mr X told me he can't manage any more. But in the middle of everything he changed his mind. He wants her at home.

You can find true romance in the most unlikely places...

Last edited:

Shakesbear

knows a hawk from a handsaw
Registered
Reaction score
Maybe a care home that would take both of them?

heyjude

Making my own sunshine
Registered
Reaction score
Aw, that is the sweetest thing.

My aunt and uncle were the same way. He cared for her all their lives, into their 90s. When she died he went very soon after despite being in good health. Broken heart.

What a beautiful, selfless kind of love that is.

aruna

On a wing and a prayer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.sharonmaas.co.uk
Maybe a care home that would take both of them?