PDA

View Full Version : Any Anesthesiologists Among Us?

Elizabeth Holloway
08-24-2012, 11:21 AM
It's funny I should come to this board to ask this question, since I'm a nurse and work regularly with anesthesiologists. However, given the nature of the question and the fact that I'm a bit shy about my writing, I'm hoping someone here can help me.

In my latest WIP, a character is kidnapped from her home. The man who nabs her is a skilled anesthesiologist. What drug would an anesthesiologist use if he wanted to knock someone (without IV access) out quickly (within 10 min) and have her sleep for a few hours.

In my research, I've found chloroform would be quick, but it wears off too soon (10 min) and has adverse side-effects that would not work for the plot (severe, almost debilitating headache). I also came across a cocktail intramuscular injection of Ativan and Haldol, which would work as far as duration of effects, but I've seen for myself how long that takes to get someone to totally pass out (30min to 1hour) and that wouldn't work for the plot either. So, does anyone have any suggestions as to what an anesthesiologist, with unlimited access to anesthetics and analgesics, would use to knock out and kidnap a 16yo girl?

Muchas Gracias.

Snick
08-24-2012, 04:28 PM
I am not an anesthesiologist, and I don't know even as much as you do, but I think that the answer is a two stage knockout. The chloroform would do the initial knockout, and an injection of a longer acting drug could follow in a few minutes. As I understand it, that is how most anesthesia is done. I think that there is no single drug that would work without there being a fair chance of an overdose.

BTW, I didn't realize it at the time but being an anesthesiologist would have been an excellent career choice for me.

WeaselFire
08-24-2012, 05:48 PM
Propofol would be most common now. Pentathol used to be. But they're intravenous, so you can't just jab someone with a needle. Maybe chloroform, then an IV.