Status
Not open for further replies.

quixotic!fantastic!

o dulcinea
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.pittsinstitute.webs.com
This might be in the wrong place. I admit I haven't combed the forums for this post's best possible location.

That said, in litfic is absolutely where I feel most comfortable.

I am feeling frustrated.

I work a high-stress job that consumes most of my time, creativity and emotional energy. I've been writing long enough that I don't feel threatened by the notion of moving away from writing, but almost all of my time is devoted to either maintaining relationships or treading water at work. Don't get me wrong - I love everything that's happening - but I'm getting off-topic.

As a litfic author, I miss my characters over almost every other part of writing. Lately I keep getting into these half-daydreams about characters. I call them "half-daydreams" because they are not productive or satisfying, just flashes of moments and characters I miss.

It's starting to drive me a little bit crazy.

I need advice/suggestions on how to feel a little closer to my writing (and characters) on a limited time budget. I'm willing to try anything from writing-yoga (but you'll have to tell me what it is....) to haikus, but I feel like I can't be the only person to run into this problem. Plenty of people are busy, plenty are over-capacity, and I think I'm just too stressed to see where the outlets should be.

Thoughts? Ideas??? Commiseration?

Let me know!!!

LindsayM

Registered
Reaction score
Alright, this may sound odd, but have you tried hypnosis for boosting creative energy/focus/relaxation? I love Raise Your Energy by Glenn Harrold. As far as staying connected to your characters and your writing during stressful times, try just writing 500 words each day. It sounds so little, but 30 days later, you've got a novel (or at least good sized pile of pages to work from when you have more time).

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score