PDA

View Full Version : Novels by Outline?

ScottAJohnson
01-13-2006, 08:43 PM
My wife is looking for information regarding publishers who send outlines to the authors detailing what they want...I'm not exactly certain what she's talking about, but apparantly, there're a few publishers (in romance and young adult fiction) that do this sort of thing...

Anyone have any information? I'm a horror writer, and am terribly out of my element here...

Thanks

Carlene
01-13-2006, 08:55 PM
Hi Scott,

I think what your wife is talking about is guidelines, not outlines. I've never heard of a publisher sending out outlines. It sounds like she is a romance writer, so tell her to go to www.eharlequin.com (http://www.eharlequin.com). They have guidelines for ALL their lines and they're pretty specific. Of course the best way to target a line is to get lots of their books and read them.

Hope this helps,

Carlene
www.crdater.com (http://www.crdater.com)

clara bow
01-13-2006, 11:12 PM
Karen Fox has compiled TONS of links regarding all things romance. Here's a page of her Web site to start with:

http://www.karenafox.com/links.htmI had some trouble copying and pasting. If that link is screwy here it is again

www.karenafox.com/links.htm (http://www.karenafox.com/links.htm)

Cathy C
01-14-2006, 12:35 AM
From a post on another thread here (I forwarded him here), it sounds like Scott's wife is targeting H/S YA lines. Susan, annie -- do you have any idea who to approach for the YA lines? Does Harlequin HAVE YA lines anymore? I know that Dorchester stopped the Smooch line and I thought that was the last one around.

Any thoughts, ladies?

L.Jones
01-14-2006, 05:00 AM