Fee

FSAG052

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new here and have been offered a contract from a literary agent, but he is asking for an upfront fee as I am an emerging author. The contract is for 7 years and royalties are not good. Is there a fixed percentage like for eg if 1-100 books or 101-1000 or 1001+ copies are sold, how much percentage an author gets? He says his agency does not give advance to beginning authors.
I can't understand more than half of the contract but he is very evasive and at times vague when I ask him any questions. NOW, he tells me I am not serious about getting my work published! Can I trust an agent like that with my life's worth work?

Any comments/advice/suggestions highly appreciated.

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
Okay, first off what you say is confusing. An agent doesn't give you royalties, you get it from the publisher. The agent should take 15% domestic sales from that, and 20% on foreign rights. You should NEVER give money to an agent or publisher beforehand. 7 YEARS, OMG, what the F is that noise? 7 years to represent you? That's nuts! It should be only one year to start. Maybe even 6 months only. Whatever he's charging you, run away. This sounds like red flags everywhere. As far as advances, you get them from the publisher first. Who's to say the agent connects you with the publisher that gives advances, is he going to deny you that? This is so wrong. I don't know who the agent is, but like I said, it certainly doesn't sound good.

Purple Rose

practical experience, FTW
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
alxblog.net
Run! Don't look back, just run.

Seriously though, there are many threads like this on AW. The responses are usually along the lines of "Run".

Agents don't take fees. They only get paid when your book is sold. Agents don't pay royalties either. Publishers pay royalties, out of which the agent takes the agreed cut (usually 15%, I believe).

OctoberLee