A basic question which I don't understand: advance payment.

Yukinara

The Exile
Registered
Reaction score
Ok, I'm a newbie to traditional publishing industry, and I can't seem to find the answer to this question anywhere, so I guess maybe I can find it here.

Let's say if my book got accepted and the publisher absolutely love it, and they decided to sign a contract and give me advance payment for like 1 million. So, I can't earn royalty until they make that 1 million back, right? An author once confessed to me (well, in her book) that sometimes, when the book didn't perform as good as they want, that kinda leave a bad mark in the publisher. Obviously, it's business, they want to make more than the amount they spent. And if they can't make back that 1 million, it's bad business. I can totally understand the decision not to continue publish that book or series or that author's other work.

So, what IF I don't want to get that 1 million? I know it sounds funny, no one can say no to money, right? But personally, if I can just get, say, 100k and the book earn 900k. So, I continue to keep the good relationship with the publisher, as a result, I have better chance to push other books out there. It's a win-win situation. I make money (albeit less, and that 100k is just advance, not royalty), they make money, everyone's happy. So why should I sacrifice that relationship for a hefty check upfront?

Or is there something wrong with the way I'm thinking?

Captcha

Banned
Reaction score
Ok, I'm a newbie to traditional publishing industry, and I can't seem to find the answer to this question anywhere, so I guess maybe I can find it here.