R+R Etiquette

justbishop

Proud Literary Sadist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ashleyheckman.com
Have queried my novella to 4 epubs so far, and got my first response back this morning, an R+R :hooray:

The editor had some very kind words about my style, and some encouraging suggestions, but I'm not sure how to proceed. I think I definitely need to reply and ask for clarification on the things she said needed work, but I'm just not sure how to word it.

So my question is this: would it be frowned upon to send a revised snippet (a few paragraphs) of the piece that she saw (first 20 pages), and ask if I'm headed in the direction she had in mind? Or do I just revise the entire novella before resubmitting?

Thanks in advance, and any other advice you have on how to handle these situations is helpful, as I'm a noob to the process!

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I wouldn't send her a snippet: she's already given you guidance. I'd just do the revision and send it in.

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
What clarification do you need? Didn't the editor suggest anything?

Jeff

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Bishop, if the editor wasn't clear in her request I wonder, now, if you're mistaking a kindly form rejection for an R&R. I am probably making something out of nothing, but if you were to copy her note here we'd be able to judge better.

I realise that if this is the case you're going to feel horrible, but I hope that's better than making a mistake by reworking and resubmitting your work.

justbishop

Proud Literary Sadist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ashleyheckman.com