Getting an editor's help

Meaganmm

Registered
Reaction score
Hey, all.
I have a manscript for a memoir which I thought was complete at 65,000 words, and instead I now have four R&Rs from agents. They all say the same thing: This will be a great book. But not yet. I need more character development, I need a better story arc, it needs work.
All four agents have said they're very interested in the book and it has broad commercial appeal if I can get the suggested changes made, which are pretty substantial revisions.
Here's my question: Is it worth the time and money to hire a developmental editor to guide me through this?
I'm a journalist and a writer by trade, so it almost feels like cheating to hire an editor -- I should be able to knock this out on my own, right?
On the other hand, since it's a memoir, there's a good chance I'm too close to it and need the feedback to make the book more marketable.
How do agents and publishers look at a manuscript that's been through a professional editor? Is is something that I add to a query when I resubmit, as a way of saying that I'm committed and professional and I want the book polished, or is it an amateur's quick fix and I'm better off not to mention it?
If I go with someone like Alan Rinzler, who is well-known in the industry, do I use his name, or is that a red flag? What I go with someone less well-known?
Or should I just go back to the tried and true method of writing a third draft and powering through this...
I guess the gist of the question is, when is it OK to call in help, and is getting help a good thing or a sign of a weak writer?
Thanks in advance for your thoughts,
Meagan

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
Hey, all.