PDA

View Full Version : Serial Killer Jurisdiction

scribbler1382
01-11-2006, 08:13 PM
When do the feds get involved in serial killer cases? If all the killings are local (in the same city/state) would they get involved at all or would the local/city cops work the case?

DaveKuzminski
01-11-2006, 11:21 PM
Marty, they're already investigating you. ;)

Okay, jokes aside, the answer is it depends. The cases could all be in a single state, but still involve Federal jurisdiction if one occurs on a Federal reservation in that state. In other words, you don't have to cross state lines for Federal intervention. I believe you can also get Federal intervention if one of the victims falls into a special category, so it wouldn't even be necessary then for the cases to involve crossing state lines or occur on a Federal reservation.

alleycat
01-12-2006, 12:32 AM
I'm no expert but I think they can become involved merely if the local authorities request their help.

ac

scribbler1382
01-12-2006, 01:20 AM
Thanks, guys. Guess I should have been clearer. I've got a serial killer who has stayed within state boundaries and no crime has occurred on any Federal reservations. The locals haven't requested help, and for me to not have to do a huge rewrite, I don't WANT the feds involved. I'm just trying to determine if it's realistic to not involve them, that's all. The city is L.A. if that makes any difference.

ideagirl
01-12-2006, 08:01 AM
I've got a serial killer who has stayed within state boundaries and no crime has occurred on any Federal reservations. The locals haven't requested help, and for me to not have to do a huge rewrite, I don't WANT the feds involved. I'm just trying to determine if it's realistic to not involve them, that's all.