PDA

View Full Version : The Narrative, Writing vs. Art

Gale Haut
08-02-2012, 04:46 AM
I've thought about this a lot since I started working in graphics professionally, but I'm curious what others think.

Arguably a picture can tell a story as effectively as an actual story tells itself. For both the artist and the writer a narrative can be established by focusing on different types of details.

But what do you consider to be the differences between the visual narrative and the written narrative? How would you approach them differently?

Rhubix
08-02-2012, 07:28 AM
I found this question a bit hard to answer. It's not really something I've ever considered.

As an animator, I focus on a single action, a reaction, or the flow between them. There are certainly illustrators that can pour all kinds of narrative into a single image, but that's not really my forte.

Writing, I feel like I'm zoomed out. I can move around the setting, the narrative, even inside the characters heads.
When I draw I'm zoomed right in to the 1/24th of a second of that character's life. I'm concerned with expression, balance, and physics. I don't design settings as much as I work with characters, but when I do it's in a very functional way.

I suppose I give myself a lot of slack when I write. I let myself get fantastical and often go on a tangents. It's not unusual for me to write a chapter or three that I never intend to keep, just to see where my characters want to take me. In a lot of ways it's my more creative form of expression.

Drawing is far more demanding of me. I spend considerable time working on my fundamental skill. I'm not satisfied with something that is artsy, or romantic - I need it to be technically proficient as well. I'm a bit of a structure snob. :D That's surely how I ended up an animator. Not many free spirited artsy types enjoy having themselves restricted right down to their line thickness.