PDA

View Full Version : Are People Hiring Copy Editors for Kindle Titles? [moved from e-pub]

Bookmama
08-01-2012, 02:01 AM
I was trying to find out what percent (approximately) of digital publishers/writers are hiring copy editors to review/edit their manuscripts before publishing on Kindle (or other digital platforms).

For anyone who hired a copy editor and wants to recommend them, I'd love to get contact info -- either in this thread or via private message.

Thanks in advance.

WildScribe
08-01-2012, 02:03 AM
From what I've seen, the majority of them are not, and it shows. If you'd like to PM me I can give you my credentials - I'm a copy editor. :)

thothguard51
08-01-2012, 03:23 AM
Smart self publishers will hire an editor and a copy editor. But that does not guarantee the book will make back the cost...

If I go SP, I will hire both, and a professional designer. If I go this route, its not going to be about earning back but about making sure my work is the best it can be...

If I go this route...

Bookmama
08-01-2012, 03:47 AM
Thanks Wildscribe. I did PM you.

Other folks, don't be shy to say, No, I didn't hire a copy editor or yes, I did and here is why.

Whether you hired a copy editor or not, if you have a title on Kindle, then you took action to pursue a goal -- pat yourself on the back!

Old Hack
08-01-2012, 12:19 PM
Bookmama, just checking: you do know the difference between an editor, a copy editor, and a proof reader, don't you?

I just wonder why you've asked specifically about copy editing, but not about the other sorts of editor.

Terie
08-01-2012, 01:21 PM
Shouldn't this be in the self-publishing forum? It's a generic question about self-publishing, not a question specific to e-publishing.

It also might get a better response there, since people who self-publish hang out in that forum.

Finally, Bookmama, you might want to show a bit of patience. Waiting less than two hours before asking for more replies is a bit....impatient.

Torgo