Are People Hiring Copy Editors for Kindle Titles? [moved from e-pub]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bookmama

Registered
Reaction score
I was trying to find out what percent (approximately) of digital publishers/writers are hiring copy editors to review/edit their manuscripts before publishing on Kindle (or other digital platforms).

For anyone who hired a copy editor and wants to recommend them, I'd love to get contact info -- either in this thread or via private message.

Thanks in advance.

WildScribe

Slave to the Wordcount
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
From what I've seen, the majority of them are not, and it shows. If you'd like to PM me I can give you my credentials - I'm a copy editor. :)

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score
Smart self publishers will hire an editor and a copy editor. But that does not guarantee the book will make back the cost...

If I go SP, I will hire both, and a professional designer. If I go this route, its not going to be about earning back but about making sure my work is the best it can be...

If I go this route...

Bookmama

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks Wildscribe. I did PM you.

Other folks, don't be shy to say, No, I didn't hire a copy editor or yes, I did and here is why.

Whether you hired a copy editor or not, if you have a title on Kindle, then you took action to pursue a goal -- pat yourself on the back!

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Bookmama, just checking: you do know the difference between an editor, a copy editor, and a proof reader, don't you?

I just wonder why you've asked specifically about copy editing, but not about the other sorts of editor.

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
Shouldn't this be in the self-publishing forum? It's a generic question about self-publishing, not a question specific to e-publishing.