PDA

View Full Version : Catholic High Schools - Many Questions

Jonathan.Bentz
07-27-2012, 04:44 AM
Hi, I'm setting the third book in a series of novellas I'm writing (the Predator & Prey series) around a Catholic high school, but I have limited knowledge in this regard except for the fact that they're run by reverends, nuns, and have groundskeepers. The killer I'm giving this novel is a groundskeeper, but I'm wondering a few things:

Do Catholic high schools hire their groundskeepers from within their congregations?

If so, what kind of background checks do they do?

I understand that some Catholic High Schools require uniforms (slacks and dress shirt for boys; skirts, choice of nylons or knee socks, and blouse/blazers for girls). Is there a difference (such a boarding versus day school), or not?

How often, when an investigation becomes based around these schools, do they close ranks? Do they protect mainly the reverends/priests and the nuns, or all employees? (I'm not trying to be an irritant, but I've watched too many SVU episodes and I want to make sure there's at least some resemblance to reality in those 'schools close ranks' cases).

Do Catholic High schools often have a security system of any kind, or if its a community they consider trustworthy do they not go for that expense? (A good number of the victims are abducted by the killer either on the grounds or nearby).

Those are all the questions I can think of for now. But any information would be greatly appreciated. For these types of things, you have to be as accurate as possible. I could probably get away with that launcher thing I mentioned in another thread, but stuff like the rules and regulations of a Catholic High School and how they deal with security and with police investigations? Best to do as much research as possible.