PDA

View Full Version : How To Not Promote Your Editing Services

jenni1607
07-13-2012, 08:05 AM
Hi there,

I have over ten years' experience as a professional editor and proofreader. My rates are very reasonable and you don't pay until you are completely satisfied with my work.

I aim to provide a professional service for people that have a small budget.

For a quote, please send a sample page of your work, a total word count and a deadline to [email address deleted by mod]

I am willing to do a sample edit free of charge.

Jennifer Nolan
[link deleted by moderator]
[email address deleted by mod]

Old Hack
07-13-2012, 08:43 AM
Jenni, I've edited your post to delete your email address because if you leave it up online like that you're going to get deluged with spam. If anyone wants to contact you they can send you a PM.

It's not on for you to tout your own services here like that. By all means link to your website in your signature: but please don't try to use AW as a sales tool. You've hardly participated in the community, and it's not appreciated. You're welcome to start a single thread in Announcements And Self Promotion if you'd like, but nowhere else. Thank you.

jenni1607
07-13-2012, 08:57 AM
Ah... I am very sorry about that, I now know for the future. I found that comment a little harsh. I'm new here and still learning.

Old Hack
07-13-2012, 12:44 PM
Jenni, I strongly suggest you read the Newbie Guide (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66315), which I think you will have already been directed towards in the email you received when you signed up. It'll help you find your way round AW, which is a big place and can seem intimidating. I think it includes information about when self promotion is and isn't acceptable, but it's been a while since I read it so I can't be sure.