PDA

View Full Version : Identifying A Suspect?

TheGrayLady
07-10-2012, 04:22 PM
In my book, two police officers visit the MC (victim) to get her to identify her kidnapper.

How would they go about this? Show her pictures? Would they be in a file, folder, notebook?

I have no idea how this works.

zahra
07-10-2012, 08:25 PM
I believe they can't just show the people THEY believe are the culprits. There would be a file with photos of putative suspects if she was not able to come to the station.

Then again, if they'd honed in on someone, they'd put the suspect in a line-up, behind a glass, where she could see them but they could not see her.

I'm not an expert in this area, but I believe that's how it's done. Someone more knowledgeable might be able to confirm or deny.

MarkEsq
07-10-2012, 10:47 PM
Assuming the police believe they know who did it, they'd likely to what's called a "photo array." Live line-ups are very rare these days because it's so hard to find innocents who look a lot like the suspects. Much easier to use photos.

But, the times are changing. Here in Austin our cops are part of a science-based (so I'm told) trial that involves getting rid of the old way and do it a new way. In the old days (and in many jurisdictions still) they will show a page of photos, six faces, and ask the witness to ID the culprit.

Here, the cops are showing the victim one photo at a time, each on a separate piece of paper, after making a little speech about "the person who raped you may or may not be in these photos, please take your time and look carefully at each one." If the victim IDs anyone, they sign the back of that photo and write "this is the man who raped me" or something like that on it.

Trebor1415
07-10-2012, 11:33 PM
In my book, two police officers visit the MC (victim) to get her to identify her kidnapper.

How would they go about this? Show her pictures? Would they be in a file, folder, notebook?

I have no idea how this works.