PDA

View Full Version : Seeking writing buddies/betas for various genres

M.Macabre
07-08-2012, 10:01 PM
I'm quite shy and awkward, so hence I'm taking the first step to find some writing buddies. I prefer to self-edit and stay self-motivated, however, I'm beginning to realize that this won't help me advance my writing.

Basically I'm all over the place, because I write:
Horror
Science Fiction (usually hard SF and biopunk)
Dark Contemporary/''Literary''
Gay/Straight BDSM or Dark Erotica (mostly gay)

Most of my work involves graphic content. I'm more than willing to swap Mss, and although I personally prefer to read grittier stuff, I'll crit pretty much anything. Lengthwise, I mostly write shorter works, ranging from 4k to 40k. About me: I'm currently a third year Uni student majoring in biochem, speak conversational French, read fast, used to be a psych major, love Ancient Greek and Roman history, am in my early 20's, GLBT, and friendly C:

I'm not expecting to find someone who writes all of the same genres as me, but if you're interested in even some of the stuff I think it'd be great for us to support each other. As far as publishing goes, I'm undecided of what my writing goals are at this point. I should also say that I've never let anyone really look at my work before, so I'm not sure exactly what degree of feedback I'm soliciting. I've got a pretty tough skin and I've taken serious concrit in my academic works, so I know I can handle, but if it's abysmally bad don't crush my soul. Any second pair of eyes would help me out at this point.

Feel free to send me any Pms/respond here if you want to be writing buddies, betas, mentors, or friends.

Raventongue
07-08-2012, 11:17 PM
Huh. I'm a couple of years younger than you, also GLBT (well, just L really), write mostly fantasy and far-future sci-fi, and I'd like to be writing buddies!

M.Macabre
07-09-2012, 08:50 AM
Thanks for responding to my post, I'll send you a pm.

Chasing the Horizon
07-09-2012, 09:16 AM