Teaching a writing workshop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Petropunk

Registered
Reaction score
So I was approached to present a writing workshop that starts . . . erm . . . tomorrow . . . and I've never done this before and haven't really been to many myself. I've written the stuff I'm going over, well most of it anyway, but I'm not sure about the mechanics of it.

I don't have any powerpoint stuff, because I have no patience for that and my ex took off with my laptop anyway. Do I make up worksheets or something for the kids or would they have their own notebooks to take down what I'm saying?

I mean I know nobody can tell me what's going on in this specific situation, but in general how do these work?

Katrina S. Forest

Registered
Reaction score
Website
katrinasforest.com
I'm confused as to what you're doing. You're going to a school to teach children about writing? What age group and how long is the lesson supposed to take? Are they getting graded or is this something they're taking for fun?

As a very general rule, I would say avoid worksheets. Worksheets are what every teacher hands out when they don't know what to do. Kids hate them. Do something interactive. Let them be creative. Plan extra activities in case the ones you have planned take less time than you think. Work in games, if you can. If you're going to ask questions, make them open-ended, not stuff that has just one answer. And, unless they're actually getting a grade for this, let them decide if they want to take notes or not.

Those are my best tips from substituting every age from preschool to high school. That and always, always arrive early. Can't count how many times that's saved my sanity.

Last edited:

Petropunk

Registered
Reaction score
It's just for a summer writing camp involving a bunch of local authors. I'm going over fantasy worldbuilding. The youngest is like 10, but it looks like most are around 13-14. The range is 10-18. Different age groups for different days this week.