Reading for Contests

Status
Not open for further replies.

WerenCole

Funny what? Do I amuse you?
Registered
Reaction score
I have recently been asked to read for a short story contest. I have never done so before and have been apalled by how many entries are subpar, amateur and often very trite. On the other hand I have been pleasantly surprised by the variety of stories and find it interesting to see what other writers decide to send to contests. So far I have found it to be a rewarding experience.

I am also trying to figure out if maybe I made a mistake in taking this offer. The editor who wants me to read warned that because of the volume of stories and the attention needed that my own work as a writer would suffer until I am done reading, which so far has been the case. Though, I do not wholly find this to be a problem because of the research aspect. It is fun to see the different styles and approaches people take to the same contest and in the long run I think it can help me shape the way I approach a contest.

Has anyone ever read for a contest before? What were your experiences, good, bad and ugly?

-W

JAlpha

Smilie Fanatic
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
diaryofaliteraryfictioneditor.blogspot.com
werencole said:

Has anyone ever read for a contest before? What were your experiences, good, bad and ugly?

-W

I have been asked to judge several writing contests, and I agree the poor quality of work that is submitted is jarring, to say the least. I've had several occasions where I couldn't even make recommendations for the allotted number of honorable mentions I was allowed to award. My negative experiences prompted me to offer a few workshops featuring sound advice for entering contests, and once again, I was jarred by how many writers are unwilling to send their very best work into a contest. It's almost as if writers think winning contests are purely based on luck, and not the quality of the work they are submitting.