PDA

View Full Version : The Importance of Experience

Tiffanie
06-28-2012, 08:04 PM
How important is writing experience in a query? 'Cause, I've been researching agents for about a month now, and most of them ask for a writer's bio. I have no publishing experience whatsoever ('closet writer' to the max), and I was wondering if that really affects my chances of finding an agent.

I've been worrying about this for a while now. I'm sure it's not an uncommon problem, but...

quicklime
06-28-2012, 08:10 PM
Tiff,

I can call you tiff, right? 'cause I kinda did....

anyway, they want anything that says you can do a novel. So short stories, other novels, well, great--they'd want to know. But if you have not, you have not--debut authors get picked up all the time. A prior pub is a nice feather in your cap, lack of one isn't a massive steel gate slamming down.

Write a great book. write an equally great query. Pitch them. Without trying to make up credits ("I wrote 'The Horse Whisperer' and am uniquely qualified, because for my fifth birthday, dad rented a pony" or that sort of thing). That's hard, but it is all you have to do.

randi.lee
06-28-2012, 08:32 PM
Tiff,

Write a great book. write an equally great query. Pitch them.

This right here. Polish up and perfect that query! Likewise, do the same with your book. Don't settle for polishing chapter one and leaving the rest unattended to, agents don't like that.

Hook them right away, then make sure to keep that hook securely fastened in the agent's lip. Credits do help, yes, but in my opinion its the query and the book itself that are going to get you through the door.

MKrys
06-28-2012, 11:51 PM
I'm going to echo what the others have said. No agent is going to reject your if you have a great query and equally great sample pages because you don't have writing experience. I used 'I'm a freelance writer based out of Northwestern Ontario' for a bio and no one seemed to mind I didn't have anything better to say :)

Good luck!