Can you tell how many words a story will be?

Dee Pratt

Registered
Reaction score
I had this idea for a story, and I thought I could do it in 4K-5K words. Then I sat down to write, and the story completely got away from me. By the time I was done, it was about 14K. I'm now considering turning it into a novel, but that's beside the point.

I know I'm relatively new at all of this, but I was just wondering if other folks are able to accurately estimate how long a story will be beforehand or if you even worry about it.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
I don't know what to say to this other than it comes out as long or as short as I make it come out.

W.L. Marks

Registered
Reaction score
Interesting question. I can almost always tell whether I'm going to be writing a flash, a regular 2-4k short story, or something like a novelette. But occasionally I do get into the trenches of the story, usually with fantasy, and realize that world building or some other aspect of the piece is going to make it longer than expected.

As for James's comment: there's truth to that as well. If I start out with a goal, say 3,000 words, I always hit within 500 words of it. (And being able to do that first draft is the result of practice.)

But I usually don't start with a word count in mind, so I'm open to letting things contract or expand during the process.

Hope that answers your question. :)

fihr

Registered
Reaction score