Recent experiences with culture

Status
Not open for further replies.

fwc

!eltneg eb ,dik weN
Registered
Reaction score
Hello Absolute Write,

I am going to write in a kind of metaphorical sense because I have had some recent experiences in a cultural change which I need to express in some form.

I was living overseas, I am originally from America, but haven't visited the country for an extended period in many, many years.

Recently, I have returned and I will now write about my experiences to show how I feel and hopefully get some revealing insights into the culture from some of my fellow writers here.

Imagine you were a performer and you had learned a trade which involved a certain style of performance. It wasn't exactly the classic American style, but it had some uniqueness and skill which could generally pull a good crowd.

So you arrange for a performance in this town and are hoping for the best, preparing for the worst. After a performance or two, a disgruntled third-party decides that its not worth having your performance around, so they decide to sabotage it with a cheap trick (for the story's sake, the trick is comparable to guessing a selected card, or hiding a ball under a cup). The audience is a little confused at first, but enjoy the cheap trick, which seemingly steals the thunder from the main performance. The performers understand the trick fairly quickly and show the audience how it was done implying they were setup, but instead of believing them or ignoring the trick, the audience continues to cheer the saboteurs on.

The performers become a little disappointed and then frustrated as they are seeing that its not really the fault of the saboteurs, how ever wrong they may be, but really the fault of the audience who have no sense of appropriate stage play or entertainment.