Passing explosives off as a gun

nikkidj

Registered
Reaction score
How feasible would it be for my baddies to create a "gun" made out of plastique? The person who receives the weapon is a complete novice, and wouldn't know a real gun from a hole in her head. It's immediately obvious to anyone who knows guns but not to her. Could the shell of the gun be stuffed with plastique, making it a pressure-sensitive device? How about flipping off the safety to arm it?

I'm about as clueless as my MC, so any help is appreciated. Thanks.

espresso5

Registered
Reaction score
Depending on how big of an explosion you need, you could mill out a gun (if it's a pistol) and pack it with explosives, or if it's a semi-auto style (pistol) remove the barrel and mill out the slide. The detonator would require some space, but I don't see why a triggering device as part of the gun couldn't be constructed.
If you're talking an assault rifle style gun like an AR, there's all kinds of room for explosive. You could pack the handgrips, upper reciever and stock with plastic and rig a detonater into the lower receiver so that when you pulled the trigger it explodes.

nikkidj

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, espresso! Sounds like it's feasible, and if it's feasible, it's staying in the story. Kudos to you.

shaldna

The cake is a lie. But still cake.
Registered
Reaction score
You know, if he doesn't see this you should PM JAR (jamesaritchie) he knows a lot about guns and could probably tell you whatever you needed to know.

Trebor1415

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure if I correctly understand the question.

A . Are you talking about taking a lump of plastique and forming it into a shape that resembles a gun hoping to fool someone into thinking it is a gun?

B. Or, are you talking about sabotaging a gun (with plastic explosive) so it will explode when someone shoots it?