PDA

View Full Version : First time novelist with no support system.

tDandy
06-12-2012, 07:16 AM
Hello Absolute Write, I'm a 21 year old writer who has been pre-writing a novel for almost two years now. I have 76 pages of fragments of manuscript mixed with outlines, character sketches, and discussions of overarching themes. In honesty what manuscript I do have I don't like and the concept I still love but I can't seem to get any momentum in writing it. I feel like before my trouble was that I didn't know what to say—I write poetry mostly but have always aspired to be a novelist—so I started to pre-write and now that I have a solid outline I seem to be at a dead end. I'm not sure whether I should scrap the project and call it overly conceptual or to keep going even though I seem to be crippled by fear and instead filling pages with over wrought concepts. And friends and family are nothing but encouraging when I show them my poetry or short stories, the only quality feedback I ever got was from an ex who I'm not exactly on good terms with now. So, I guess what I'm asking is how to become a writer, and what you guys think about how I should proceed?

Duchessmary
06-12-2012, 07:52 AM
:welcome: Yes. Put butt in chair. Get to typing, making notes, and doing it. I've been a wanna be writer for probably 25 years or so and I'm finally doing it. My husband and daughter have absolutely no interest in what I'm doing, and I've finally said, who cares? I've submitted and been rejected, and I have torn down my original MS and started over again.
Do not give up. There's a story inside you. Write it, and the best of luck!

Shaded
06-12-2012, 08:31 AM
Don't scrap it. You've put time and effort into it for a reason. If you love the concept, the words will come. Just sit down, and force yourself to write. Once it get's started, everything should just begin to flow.
If you're looking for some support, maybe a writing buddy would work for you. Good luck.

Bufty
06-12-2012, 07:02 PM