PDA

View Full Version : Medical science -- genetics question

douglass
06-06-2012, 07:50 PM
Hi,

I asked this question on a science forum and so far have had one response and thought I'd ask here too.

My novel is set in the future and wanted to find an opinion on the future possibilty of determining a person's life expectancy down to a fairly specific prediction. For example, If you had a very old man and access to all of his medical information (dna, etc.), could you predict he had 24 months to live, plus or minus one month? (assume death by natural causes -- no cancer, accidents, etc.)

Would that ever be possible?

If so:
What sort of medical info from the person would be needed?
What science breakthroughs would be needed?

Thanks in advance for any opinions.

Piddlepup
06-06-2012, 08:30 PM
I do databases for a living as well as studied genetics for awhile so i guess I can take a wack at this question.

Would it be possible? I believe so.

You would need a complete DNA map from the person and as much additional data as you can get.
For example, their parents DNA, their grandparents DNA, DNA samples from where they live (country, state, county, state). The more DNA samples the better.

What science breakthrough would be needed?
You would need as much data as can humanly be generated.

The idea you should be going for is that the more data we can find on a particular marker in their DNA the more likely you can predict if that marker is better or worse for someone. And the more data on how long people with or without that marker live will give you. This is basically creating a statistical database and generating odds.

We do this all the time in the business world and I'm sure science is doing it now.

Torgo
06-06-2012, 08:38 PM