Treading the line between "stereotypical" and "whitewashing"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Siren of Triton

Registered
Reaction score
So I am a writer who is white, and I'm working on a novel/short story/not quite sure what it's going to be yet that has a number of POC characters, and I'm a bit worried about whether I'm doing things right. I've spent a lot of time on various social justice and anti-racism blogs, and it seems like when people write characters from other cultures/ethnic groups than their own, it tends to be one of two problems: either the cultural differences are so exaggerated that they seem stereotypical, or there's not enough difference and they seem "whitewashed" or "erased." So I'm wondering: how do I draw the line, as a white person - how do I portray cultural differences without making them seem like stereotypes?