• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

New to this but would love an exp mentor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

coty

Registered
Reaction score
I have been writing since I was 18 but then it was always Poems and lyrics (I thought I was a musician). Anyway my freshman year in college I wrote a short story for an assignment. This was in 1995 or 1996, it was called "Popular", my professor loved it, she told me my grammar was not very good, (which it still is horrible) she also told me my story telling was captivating but I needed guidance to learn to put it to words better. She kept my story, and said she wanted to show it to some people. I never got it back and did not save a copy of it.

Anyway that was my first experience in writing and I have sort of fell in love with it. I started a Science Fiction novel on accident in 2000. Not sure why I started even writing, at that time I had never even read any books, but I loved to tell stories. That novel I called it Believers, it is over 400 pages in Microsoft Word and I can't even remember how many words it had in it, but I was captivated with the story in my head. My problem was and still is my grammar. That novel has been shelved and looked at again time and again but I have never finished it.