• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Present or Past Tense?

Status
Not open for further replies.

crazywritingmom

Complete NEWBIE
Registered
Reaction score
I'm writing a memoir...here is a sample paragraph in 1st person past...

Around 10pm, it was time for me to board my next flight. He walked me to the gate, and held me in his arms. He looked down at me, “Julie I have never wanted another woman as badly as I want you.” My insides were churning, and I couldn’t make eye contact. I was afraid he would see my fear. I buried my head in his chest and just said, “I love you.” It was the truth, oh how I loved him. He was quickly becoming so important in my life. I would die without him. He is the one I’d been missing. He kissed my head, my cheek, my ear, and whispered, “I want to make love to you.” And in the next moment, he was gone.

And then 1st person present...

It's 10pm, and it's time for me to board my next flight. He walks me to the gate, and holds me in his arms. He looks down at me, “Julie I have never wanted another woman as badly as I want you.” My insides are churning, and I can't make eye contact. I am afraid he will see my fear. I bury my head in his chest and just say, “I love you.” It is the truth, oh how I love him. He is quickly becoming so important in my life. I will die without him. He is the one I’ve been missing. He kisses my head, my cheek, my ear, and whispers, “I want to make love to you.” And in the next moment, he is gone.

What do you think?

SomethingOrOther

-
Registered
Reaction score
I prefer first person present to first person past three times out of four, but here I like the first-person-past version better.

Lady Ice

Makes useful distinctions
Registered
Reaction score
The past tense works better, seeing as this is a memoir and you are describing an event that's all about something that has been lost.

dangerousbill

Retired Illuminatus
Registered
Reaction score
What do you think?