PDA

View Full Version : Do you full time writers do these things?

crazywritingmom
05-30-2012, 03:49 PM
I found this article called, "Ten Habits of Highly Successful Writers". I wondered if it was true.

Since I'm new, I have no idea!!

http://jessi10.hubpages.com/_3srpolzxrzaqr/hub/10-habits-of-highly-successful-writers

James D. Macdonald
05-30-2012, 04:55 PM
It seems to be aimed at non-fiction article writers.

I do none of those things.

leahzero
05-30-2012, 05:42 PM
Any article titled "the X [things] of [adverb] successful [professions]" tends to be bullshit.

That said, 1-6 is decent advice for fiction writers, but it's also generic advice that isn't saying anything new. Work toward a goal, utilize your life experiences and knowledge, manage your time well, blah blah blah. Yep. Gotta do that to succeed in nearly anything.

Jamesaritchie
05-30-2012, 09:11 PM
If you want to make a living as a freelance writer, I think all ten are essential. As a fiction writer, only the first six are essential, but all ten are still good ideas.

Diana_Rajchel
05-30-2012, 09:33 PM
The schedule definitely matters, especially if you're aiming to build a body of work.

BigWords
06-04-2012, 01:16 AM
I like No. 6 - though I tend to juggle my eggs rather than place them in a basket. Occasionally I like throwing them at people, just to make sure they are paying attention.

Cranky
06-04-2012, 07:13 PM
Interesting list, but I think this one would be better placed over in the Roundtable. Hang on to your hats, folks, we're going for a little trip. :)

ETA: And we've arrived. Carry on!

Al Stevens
06-04-2012, 07:45 PM
I was a full-time writer of non-fiction for many years. The only thing on that list that comes close to how I worked is #3, except that sometimes I didn't "know" about something until the day before I wrote about it.

I recognize this article, however. Seen it many times. Even done it a few times. It's the kind of thing you write when you don't have anything to write about.