Seeking help concerning contract...

Steph

Worst.
Registered
Reaction score
Oh man, I really hope I'm posting this in the right board. Please forgive me if I'm wrong...

One of my short stories was accepted a while ago and I have no doubts concerning the reputation of the publisher, I've been following and researching them for quite some time and everything checks out, so I'm ready to move forward confidently, but today I was emailed a survey that is supposed to help them draft up a contract...

And I'm stumped!
I have no idea what to do. This is my first time :cry:
Basically, the survey goes as follows:

• How long can we retain English-Language Rights?

• How long can we retain Electronic Rights?

• How long can this story remain in our website's archive after exclusive rights have returned to the author?

Each of the above questions has the choices "[1 year], [2 years], [3 years], [4 years], [5 years], [Indefinitely], or [Until Author requests Story to be removed]"

My instinct on these is to put "until author requests story to be removed," but that is kind of making me feel like maybe the publisher will be wary and won't want to put me in the yearly anthology (only a portion of the content published on the website is chosen for the print and electronic anthology).

Then the survey goes on to ask:
  • Are you interested in giving us screenplay rights? Author shall recieve 50% of profit and will be given a role in the screenplay development.
Choices are yes and no. I'm thinking no is the smart move here? What say you?

I hope I gave enough information to be helpful. I'm reluctant to reveal the publisher since the editor-in-chief peruses these boards and I don't want him to know what a clueless dolt I am .__.

Anyway, thank you so much for your time!

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score