Being a Good Critter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bogna

Registered
Reaction score
Website
bemaslanka.wordpress.com
I'm going to going to my first Milford style conference in July and I was wondering what makes a good critique. I've never done any critiquing before and I want to make sure that I'm giving the best feedback that I can.

What do you find helpful/not helpful when receiving a critique? When you do a crit, how do you approach it and share it with the author?

Once!

Still confused by shoelaces
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.will-once.com
For me the best feedback doesn't tell me how to write. It tells me about the act of reading. When a critter says "I didn't like this character" or "I didn't understand this bit". When my wife said "I thought you were being too blokey".

The one bit of feedback that you cannot ever argue with is when a reader tells you how your work made them feel. You can't get inside their head and experience it. You cannot challenge it. You just have to take it on the chin.

So unless you are very confident, I would avoid critiques that tell someone how to write - eg "use shorter sentences" or "you've got too many adjectives"

Instead I would focus on how the work made you feel as a reader. Things like "the pacing was a little slow for me. I got bored" or "I didn't understand this bit".

After all, what we all really really want is to write something that appeals to readers, whether they are agents, publishers, the paying public or the judging panel for the Man Booker. So knowing how readers react to our work is priceless.

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm going to going to my first Milford style conference in July and I was wondering what makes a good critique. I've never done any critiquing before and I want to make sure that I'm giving the best feedback that I can.