How will this affect my chances?

Adam_Atlantian

The Mighty Alexander!
Registered
Reaction score
I have a few questions i wanted answered.

1. will my age have any affect on my publication acceptence. (i'm 17)

2. i f i have a few mistakes in my manuscript will the publishers still want it or will they scrap it?

3. could a small word count influence my chances of acceptance?

4. finally, since i am a first time author will larger publishing companies be less likely to look at my work?

Just a few questions that have been nagging me.

Bleak House Books

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bleakhousebooks.com
Adam_Atlantian said:

It may. It could be used as a marketing hook, BUT, the book should also be excellent. If you're writing something with series potential, age may play a factor, as a publisher would know you have many years left to write more installments. Again, the most important thing is the quality of the work.

Adam_Atlantian said:
2. i f i have a few mistakes in my manuscript will the publishers still want it or will they scrap it?

You should do your best to make sure there are NO mistakes in your manuscript. The type of mistake is also very important. Is it a typo or two? That can be fixed. Is it a major plot hole that you've overlooked? That's much more significant. Ultimately, if the publisher thinks that there is a chance of making money off your work without exhausting extensive resources, mistakes can be fixed.

Adam_Atlantian said:
Could a small word count influence my chances of acceptance?

This will change from publisher to publisher, what they're looking for, what their guidelines are, etc. There are certain economic rules of thumb in place that tell publishing companies things based on (1)Print cost and (2) cover price and how viable any given project is. So, to answer your question with one word--Depends.

Adam_Atlantian said:
Finally, since i am a first time author will larger publishing companies be less likely to look at my work?