Should technical writing credits be mentioned in queries?

cjcurrie

Registered
Reaction score
I saw a few posts that discussed the amount of resumé detail that should be included in queries, but I didn't see any mention of technical writing. Would a user guide to a machine be worth mentioning in a query for a science fiction?

A weird question, but it applies to me!

On a similar note: For previously un-published authors, is it worth mentioning one has written drafts of other unpublished novels? I feel like such a thing should be implied, but I'm not sure.

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
I saw a few posts that discussed the amount of resumé detail that should be included in queries, but I didn't see any mention of technical writing. Would a user guide to a machine be worth mentioning in a query for a science fiction?

You'll get opposing opinions on this and will have to make up your own mind.

I include a line that I'm a tech writer because it demonstrates that I can likely use the language well (proven by the rest of the query, the synopsis, and sample pages), I'm used to being edited, and I have an understanding of some important aspects of publishing that an otherwise unpublished writer might not necessarily (or at least not demonstrably) have. But if you decide to mention this, don't list publications; they're irrelevant. All that is potentially interesting is that you're a professional writer.

Others will say not to bother, because an ability to write a user manual doesn't equal an ability to put together a publishable novel.

(I, of course, might suggest that anyone saying the latter doesn't actually understand just how much fiction goes into user manuals....LOL!)

On a similar note: For previously un-published authors, is it worth mentioning one has written drafts of other unpublished novels? I feel like such a thing should be implied, but I'm not sure.